Company information

Founded in 2013 Red Chip Photonics Pty Ltd is an Australian based start-up company co-founded by Professor David Lancaster, Director of the Laser Physics and Photonics Devices Labs at the University of South Australia, and Professor Tanya Monro, Chief Defence Scientist of Australia and former Deputy Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation at the University of South Australia

Meet the Team

Dale Otten


Chief Executive Officer


Dale’s career has ranged over academic and commercial projects in pursuit of delivering cutting edge laser technologies to research and the world. Graduating with honours in chemistry from the University of Adelaide, Dale spent several years learning the realities of team management and product development in a small business environment before returning to academia. He then went on to earn his PhD from the physical chemistry department at UC Berkeley in 2010 under Prof. Richard Saykally in the study of ultrafast nonlinear spectroscopy.

On returning to Australia Dale spent five years honing his understanding of the commercial realities of the advanced research laser market with Coherent Scientific before being recruited to RedChip Photonics to help drive the RedChip founder’s vision to realisation. 

David Lancaster


Chief Technology Officer, Founder & Board Member


David is a founder, and CTO of RedChip Photonics. His vision is to see chip laser technology transitioned from the lab to industry.

David has a PhD in Experimental Laser Physics from Macquarie University, and has 20 years of post PhD experience in laser physics, laser engineering, and applications including spectroscopy, electronic warfare, laser radars, and laser micromachining.  He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Post Graduate Certificate in Scientific Leadership.

Currently, he is a Professor of Laser Engineering at the University of South Australia, and Director of the Laser Physics and Photonics Devices Laboratories.

Tanya Monro


Founder & Board Member

 Professor Tanya Monro is the Australian Chief Defence Scientist and former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Research and Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow at the University of South Australia.

Tanya obtained her PhD in physics in 1998 from The University of Sydney, for which she was awarded the Bragg Gold Medal for the best Physics PhD in Australia. In 2000, she received a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton in the UK. She came to the University of Adelaide in 2005 as inaugural Chair of Photonics. She has published over 500 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings and raised over $140M for research.

Ted Byrt


Chairman of the Board


Ted Byrt is a company director with over 30 years experience in commerce, corporate governance and international business. He is a specialist strategic advisor for major development and infrastructure projects within Australia and offshore.

Ted is a business advisor and Board member of several leading organisations in South Australia. He is Presiding Member of the Development Assessment Commission, Chairman of the China Cluster, The Australian Advanced Manufacturing Centre Pty Ltd and SMAC Technologies Pty Ltd, a Director of Treyo Leisure & Entertainment Ltd (ASX listed) and a Board member of the Aboriginal Foundation of SA Inc.